LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  

Default Help with a running total on multiple sheets

I am new to Excel and have learned a lot recently. I have just switched over all my home budgeting items to Excel instead of paper. I have a workbook with about 15 sheets (one for each budget category). Each sheet has a running balance in column E. I would like a column on sheet 1 to simply add the newest running total in column E from the remaining sheets.

I figured out how to do a running total from multiple sheets, but it is adding all the numbers from all the E columns and not just the newest running balance. (I hope that makes sense)

Thanks so much for you help!
  #2   Report Post  

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shari C View Post
I am new to Excel and have learned a lot recently. I have just switched over all my home budgeting items to Excel instead of paper. I have a workbook with about 15 sheets (one for each budget category). Each sheet has a running balance in column E. I would like a column on sheet 1 to simply add the newest running total in column E from the remaining sheets.

I figured out how to do a running total from multiple sheets, but it is adding all the numbers from all the E columns and not just the newest running balance. (I hope that makes sense)

Hi,

Where on each sheet is your "running total"?
Is it fixed or does it move depending on how many "transactions" there are in each month?
  #3   Report Post  

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spencer101 View Post
Hi,

Where on each sheet is your "running total"?
Is it fixed or does it move depending on how many "transactions" there are in each month?

It moves down column E as I add transactions. Each page is different also, as some categories have more transactions than others.
  #4   Report Post  

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shari C View Post